The Tabless XC5 Is the New High Output XC5
Model numbers settle Milwaukee’s XC5 naming confusion. Compare the new 5Ah pack with the old XC5.0, XC6.0 High Output, and Forge XC6.0.
The Milwaukee “tabless XC5” and M18 REDLITHIUM High Output XC5 are not two verified batteries. The announced North American pack is 48-11-1855, a 5Ah High Output XC battery priced at $169 for planned September 2026 availability. Milwaukee is credited with claiming 50% more power than the outgoing 48-11-1850 XC5.0, but the available model-specific material does not confirm tabless construction. For ordinary drilling and screwdriving, keep the old XC5.0 if it performs well; consider the new pack for heavier drilling that causes the old battery to slow, heat up, or stop.
Choose your tool and job, add the prices available to you, and compare the four relevant M18 packs.
M18 Drill Battery Picker
Match the battery to the tool and load. Unknown specifications remain marked — rather than being inferred from another model.
| Battery | Capacity And Power | Weight And Charge Time | Price And Best Use |
|---|---|---|---|
| REDLITHIUM XC5.0 48-11-1850 Default Pick | 5Ah; standard tier 90Wh; 18650 cells | North American weight: — Charge time: — | Your price: — Routine drilling, pilot holes, hardware and drywall screws |
| High Output XC5 48-11-1855 | 5Ah; High Output Claimed 50% more power than old XC5.0 | North American weight: — Charge time: — | Announced: $169 Demanding work when a 5Ah XC-format pack is wanted |
| High Output XC6.0 Model not specified here | 6Ah; High Output | Comparable weight: — Comparable charge time: — | Your price: — Higher-capacity High Output alternative |
| Forge XC6.0 Model not specified here | 6Ah; Forge tier Specific architecture not established here | Comparable weight: — Comparable charge time: — | Your price: — Advanced-tier alternative for demanding loads |
Enter local prices to compare cost among suitable packs. The new XC5 starts with its announced $169 price.
- “Tabless XC5” is not treated as a fifth battery. Listings using model 48-11-1855 refer to the reported High Output XC5 unless documentation shows otherwise.
- SDS-plus requires a compatible rotary hammer. A battery change cannot make an SDS-plus bit fit a drill or hammer-drill chuck.
- The regional HB5 figure of 0.785kg and 28-minute 80% charge claim are not assigned to North American 48-11-1855.
Sources: Milwaukee REDLITHIUM battery guide; ToolGuyd and Pro Tool Reviews Pipeline coverage; Building Design & Construction Magazine regional HB5 coverage. Unknowns are shown as —.
The Model Number Resolves The Tabless Naming Question
Pipeline coverage identifies the standard North American High Output XC5 as 48-11-1855 and the resistant version as 48-11-1855R. It attributes to Milwaukee the 50% power claim but does not identify either pack as a separate product officially named “Tabless XC5” or disclose the internal cell architecture (ToolGuyd’s Pipeline 2026 report).
A retailer may add “tabless” to a title because of speculation about the cells, confusion with the Forge range, or search-oriented listing language. That wording does not establish a second battery.
Use the label rather than the listing title:
- 48-11-1855 is the reported standard High Output XC5.
- 48-11-1855R is the reported resistant High Output XC5.
- 48-11-1850 is the outgoing standard REDLITHIUM XC5.0.
- Two listings showing 48-11-1855 should be treated as the same battery unless Milwaukee documents a material difference.
If a listing omits the model number, request a clear photograph of the battery and packaging. There is no defensible head-to-head winner between “Tabless XC5” and “High Output XC5” because no second model has been established.
XC, High Output, And Forge Describe Different Attributes
XC means Extended Capacity. It describes a pack’s place in Milwaukee’s size, weight, power, and runtime range; it does not identify the cell architecture. An XC pack can belong to the standard REDLITHIUM, High Output, or Forge tier.
Milwaukee broadly separates the batteries into three technology tiers. Standard REDLITHIUM is the baseline, High Output uses upgraded cell technology and electronics, and Forge is positioned as the more advanced tier.
Milwaukee’s battery guide says Forge batteries can use pouch-cell or tabless cylindrical-cell technology. That statement does not mean every Forge battery is tabless, and it does not confirm the construction of the High Output XC5. The same guide defines XC separately from cell technology (Milwaukee’s REDLITHIUM battery guide).
Consequently, neither XC nor High Output proves that 48-11-1855 has tabless cells. Technology used in a Forge pack cannot be transferred to a different High Output model without model-specific documentation.
Four M18 Packs Occupy Distinct Positions
The relevant comparison is between the old XC5.0, the new High Output XC5, the established High Output XC6.0 class, and the Forge XC6.0 class. Published North American figures for several requested comparison fields are absent from the supplied evidence.
| Battery | Capacity And Tier | Verified Comparison Point | Missing Here |
|---|---|---|---|
| XC5.0 | 5Ah, standard | 48-11-1850; 90Wh; 18650 cells | Current price, weight, charge time |
| New XC5 | 5Ah, High Output | 48-11-1855; claimed 50% more power | Weight, dimensions, charge time, cells |
| XC6.0 HO | 6Ah, High Output | Higher capacity class than either XC5 | Comparable price, weight, charge time |
| Forge XC6.0 | 6Ah, Forge | Milwaukee’s more advanced tier | Comparable price and charging data |
Pro Tool Reviews lists the outgoing 48-11-1850 at 90Wh and describes it as using 18650 cells. Its comparison also contains an anomalous 4.0Ah field that conflicts with the XC5.0 identity, 90Wh figure, and surrounding material, so that field should not be treated as reliable (Pro Tool Reviews’ M18 battery comparison).
The older pack’s 18650 construction does not reveal whether the new XC5 uses 18650, 21700, pouch, tabless cylindrical, or another cell arrangement. Specifications from the High Output XC6.0 or Forge XC6.0 cannot fill those gaps either.
The 50% Claim Is About Power, Not Runtime
Secondary reports attribute to Milwaukee a claim that the High Output XC5 supplies 50% more power than the standard XC5.0. The available reporting does not provide raw measurements, instrumentation, environmental conditions, workloads, or an independent test protocol.
Both batteries have a nominal 5Ah capacity. The claim therefore must not be rewritten as 50% more capacity or 50% longer runtime.
Power and runtime answer different questions. Peak power concerns a brief high-demand event. Sustained power concerns output maintained as voltage and temperature change. Runtime measures operation under a defined load and cutoff. Completed work counts holes, cuts, or fasteners in a particular test.
A higher-output pack could maintain drill speed longer under a heavy load or avoid thermal interruptions while producing little visible change in a low-draw task. Tool electronics also determine how much of the available output can be used.
No supplied source provides independent voltage-sag traces, current measurements, temperature curves, drilling times, or completed-hole counts for 48-11-1855. The evidence does not establish a 50% advantage throughout a discharge or across every M18 tool.
The Old XC5.0 Still Fits Routine Drill Work
The standard XC5.0 remains a rational choice for drywall screws, pilot holes, hardware installation, intermittent drilling, and other light-to-medium work. If an M18 FUEL drill already maintains speed and the pack does not become excessively hot or trigger interruptions, a higher-output battery may not produce a meaningful improvement.
The old pack is also the practical choice when it is already owned and working properly. Replacing it solely because a newer technology tier exists does not solve a demonstrated problem.
For drywall screws, accessory choice, clutch setting, and operator control can matter more than maximum battery output. The nominal 5Ah capacity of the new battery does not create a runtime reason by itself to retire a healthy 5Ah XC5.0.
Heavy Drilling Gives High Output More Room To Help
A one-inch auger bit places a much higher load on a drill than routine screwdriving. Repeated large holes can expose voltage sag, heat, throttling, or thermal shutdown in a standard pack. Those are the conditions where the new High Output XC5’s claimed power increase could matter.
Consider 48-11-1855 when you want to retain a 5Ah XC-format pack and regularly encounter slowing or heat during demanding drilling. Consider the High Output XC6.0 or Forge XC6.0 when 6Ah capacity and their respective technology tiers suit the work, but compare current local prices and verified specifications before buying. The draft evidence does not provide comparable North American prices, weights, or charging times for those two packs.
A useful battery test would run the same drill, bit, material, speed, feed method, and cutoff point with temperature-stabilized packs. It should report repeated drilling times, holes completed, loaded voltage, pack temperature, shutdown events, weight, dimensions, and recharge time on a named charger. Those measurements are not yet available here for the new XC5.
An SDS-Plus Bit Requires A Rotary Hammer
An SDS-plus concrete task should not decide between batteries for an ordinary M18 FUEL drill driver or hammer drill. SDS-plus bits use a dedicated shank and impact mechanism intended for an SDS-plus rotary hammer.
A conventional hammer drill with a compatible masonry bit can make smaller holes in masonry, but selecting a higher-output battery does not turn its chuck into an SDS-plus system. For an SDS-plus concrete job, choose the correct M18 rotary hammer first and then compare compatible batteries according to that tool’s manual and workload.
This distinction matters more than the XC5 choice. A Forge or High Output pack cannot compensate for using the wrong tool interface.
North American Weight And Charge Time Remain Unknown
Regional coverage identifies the European or UK M18 HB5 and resistant M18 HB5-CR as 5Ah packs weighing 0.785kg. It also claims an 80% charge in 28 minutes and a full charge in 39 minutes with a Milwaukee super charger (Building Design & Construction Magazine’s regional coverage).
Those figures should not be assigned to North American 48-11-1855 or 48-11-1855R. Similar capacity and branding do not prove identical housings, electronics, cells, charging limits, certifications, or dimensions.
For the North American High Output XC5, the supplied evidence does not establish exact weight, dimensions, watt-hours, supported fast-charge modes, charge time, or cell architecture. Claims copied from the regional HB5, an older XC6.0, or a Forge battery would create a false specification comparison.
The Resistant XC5 Costs More For Environmental Protection
North American announcement coverage lists the standard 48-11-1855 at $169 and the resistant version at $209, both for planned September 2026 availability. Those are pre-release figures and may change before retail stock arrives (Pro Tool Reviews’ Pipeline 2026 roundup).
The North American resistant model is described as oil-resistant. Broader protection claims involving oils, solvents, and greases come from coverage of the regional HB5-CR, whose exact equivalence to 48-11-1855R has not been established.
Treat the R suffix as an environmental-durability distinction, not another performance tier. No supplied evidence shows that 48-11-1855R has more power, capacity, runtime, or charging speed than 48-11-1855.
The $40 announced premium can make sense for routine oil exposure in automotive, mechanical, maintenance, or industrial work. It is not justified merely by an assumption that “R” means a faster battery. Chemical resistance also does not imply protection against every substance, prolonged immersion, liquid ingress, excessive heat, or abuse.
The Buying Verdict Depends On The Existing Pack
Buy 48-11-1855 if demanding drilling repeatedly causes a standard XC5.0 to slow, heat up, or interrupt work and you specifically want a 5Ah High Output pack. The claimed 50% power increase is relevant to that use, but its real advantage in a particular drill remains unmeasured.
Keep 48-11-1850 if it already handles routine drilling, hardware installation, and screwdriving satisfactorily. Equal nominal 5Ah capacity means the new pack does not promise an automatic runtime increase.
Choose 48-11-1855R only when oil exposure makes the resistant housing useful. Compare the announced $209 price with the standard pack’s $169 price on that basis.
Wait for model-specific documentation or controlled testing if the purchase depends on weight, dimensions, charging speed, temperature reduction, exact task output, or tabless construction. Do not pay extra solely because a seller inserts “tabless” into the title.